The National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) primary mission is to develop, conduct and promote educational, research and training programs designed to enhance the effectiveness of its members, as they consider legislation and issues of public policy which impact, either directly or indirectly upon "the general welfare" of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions.


In support of its mission, NBCSL has adopted the following fundamental objectives:

  1. To serve as a national network and clearinghouse for the discussion, dissemination, and exchange of ideas and information among African American state legislators and their staffs;
  2. To provide research, training, and educational services to African American state legislators and their staff.
  3. To improve the effectiveness and quality of African American state legislators; and
  4. To serve as a strong, united, and effective advocate for African American state legislators and their constituencies at the federal level.

Rep Joe Armstrong


Rep. Joe Armstrong (TN)


Sen. Catherine Pugh (MD)

Rep Gregory Porter

Vice President

Rep. Gregory Porter (IN)

Rep Alan Williams


Rep. Alan Williams (FL)

Rep Laura Hall

Financial Secretary

Rep. Laura V. Hall (AL)


Rep. Howard Mosby (GA)


Sen. Hillman Terome Frazier (MS)

Rep Dee Dawkins-Haigler


Rep. Dee Dawkins-Haigler (GA)