The National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) primary mission is to develop, conduct and promote educational, research and training programs designed to enhance the effectiveness of its members, as they consider legislation and issues of public policy which impact, either directly or indirectly upon "the general welfare" of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions.


In support of its mission, NBCSL has adopted the following fundamental objectives:

  1. To serve as a national network and clearinghouse for the discussion, dissemination, and exchange of ideas and information among African American state legislators and their staffs;
  2. To provide research, training, and educational services to African American state legislators and their staff.
  3. To improve the effectiveness and quality of African American state legislators; and
  4. To serve as a strong, united, and effective advocate for African American state legislators and their constituencies at the federal level.

Membership Forms

I would like to thank you for visiting the National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) website and your interest in membership opportunities. Currently, NBCSL has over 670 African American state legislators, and representatives from over 120 corporations and labor unions. Our members are integral to our mission of providing a voice for our constituents.

NBCSL offers two levels of membership: Legislative and Private Sector. Our Legislative Members are African Americans elected to state legislatures (voting membership); they are required to pay annual dues of $100.00. Private Sector Membership is comprised of representatives of corporations and labor organizations. Private Sector Members act as an advisory committee. Our Private Sector Members are required to pay annual dues of $10,000. We also offer Associate Membership opportunities tailored towards small businesses and non-profit organizations. 

For more information please contact the national office at 202.624.5457.


Roslyn Smith
Interim Executive Director.



membershipdues H