Menu Legend

empty-desksThe National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) has 13 policy committees (see list) composed of NBCSL members and legislative staff. These committees meet to exchange ideas, network, and find solutions to issues facing all Americans.

The policy committees also serve an important function in the policy resolution process. Legislators deliberate and vote on resolutions, which must pass out of policy committees before they can be ratified by the full membership body at the Annual Legislative Conference.

Are you a legislator interested in joining a policy committee? Click here!

Policy Committee Leadership

Committee on Agriculture

Chair: Rep. Helen Miller (IA)
Vice Chair: Rep. John Rogers (AL)

Committee on Business, Financial Services, and Insurance

Chair: Rep. Eric Johnson (TX)
Vice Chair: Rep. Larry Miller (TN)

Committee on Education

Chair: Rep. Gilda Cobb-Hunter (SC)
Vice Chair: Sen. Tanya Cook (NE)
Vice Chair: Sen. Joyce Elliot (AR)

Committee on Emergency Preparedness/Homeland Security

Chair: Rep. Willie Perkins (MS)
Vice Chair: Rep. Deborah Berry (IA)
Vice Chair: Sen. David Haley (KS)

Committee on Energy, Transportation, and Environment

Chair: Rep. Joe Gibbons (FL)
Vice Chair: Rep. Cherrish Pryor (IN)
Vice Chair: Rep. Billy Mitchell (GA)

Committee on Gaming, Sports, and Entertainment

Chair: Rep. Joe Towns, Jr. (TN)
Vice Chair: Del. Jay Walker (MD)
Vice Chair: Rep. Bruce Morris (CT)

Committee on Health and Human Services

Chair: Sen. Connie Johnson (OK)
Vice Chair: Rep. Mia Jones (FL)
Vice Chair: Sen. Willie Simmons (MS)

Committee on Housing

Chair: Rep. Brenda Gilmore (TN)
Vice Chair: Rep. Anastasia Pittman (OK)
Vice Chair: Sen. Jeffrey Hayden (MN)

Committee on International Affairs

Chair: Sen. Donne Trotter (IL)
Vice Chair: Del. Nathaniel Oaks (MD)
Vice Chair: Sen. Jackie Winters (OR)

Committee on Labor, Military, and Veteran’s Affairs

Chair: Rep. Sharon Beasley-Teague (GA)
Vice Chair: Rep. Karen Camper  (TN)
Vice Chair: Rep. Clem Smith (MO)

Committee on Law, Justice, and Ethics

Chair: Sen. Arthenia Joyner (FL)
Vice Chair: Rep. Reginald Meeks (KY)
Vice Chair: Rep. Linda Coleman (MS)

Committee on Telecommunications, Science, and Technology

Chair: Dele. Michael Vaughn (MD)
Vice Chair: Sen. Valencia Seay (GA)
Vice Chair: Sen. Sharon Weston Broome (LA)

Committee on Youth

Chair: Rep. Mike Shelton (OK)
Vice Chair: Rep. Meshea Poore (WV)